Don’t Get Too Busy Being Busy

I feel confident in saying that Socrates could never have imagined just how applicable this quote is in modern times. Even without the pressures and challenges of COVID-19,  adults and children alike are experiencing an increase in busyness.

Aesthetic I created some weeks ago.

This topic- busyness and overwork, is one I have firm views on and I am pretty certain it will come up again. 

Technology ensures that we are easily accessible. Our phones either ping and ring at rather ungodly hours (which is why mine go on auto-silent at a particular time). I am unavailable and I respect others enough not to call them after hours and most importantly, not on weekends to discuss office matters; unless they insist and require me to or it’s a matter of life or death. I believe that boundaries are important.

I have friends who lament the insensitive scheduling of virtual meetings by office directors. Many times they aren’t consulted on their availability.

Some persons have become so busy that there is little in the way of quality time spent with their children, aging parents, other family members and loved ones.

So I’ll ask the following:-

What about taking time for fun activities? Remember the pottery class you took? What about that go-cart you promised to build with your son? Or, the Saturday night movie date you had with your daughter?

As you’ve become so busy (being busy),  have you made an appointment with your doctor about the recurring pains in your chest or that growing lump in your breast?

Life, if well-lived,  is long enough.

—Seneca

Being busy is not a badge of honour. Striking a comfortable work-personal life balance is more useful, more sensible for all involved.  If you are keen to take back some personal and family time that has been consumed by office duties, please know that not every activity has to be stencilled into your diary. Just go with the flow and let the mood dictate.

As I say this, below are some practical ways I have used from time to time to set boundaries where work is concerned and things I have done to be present for my family and myself. I hope you find them useful:-

  • actually take your lunch hour away from your desk. You can bring your meal to work to make it easier. If your office has a separate lunch area, use it. You might also find it builds collegiality. If you prefer, you can also go browse the shops,  get some fresh air. The lunch break is yours to take, do take it.
  • leave work on time and go for a walk in your nearby park.
  • on weekends, leave the work phone at home when you’re out with family.
  • if the above feels like separation issues, place on vibrate or silent- if it makes you feel better to say, ‘Sorry, I didn’t hear my phone ring!’ In my opinion, exercise some discipline and go spend the time with your loved ones.
  • by extension, practice saying no to over-commitment. Take stock of current projects and work to complete what you have in play.
  • surprise your child by cooking his/her fave meal.
  • spend the weekend catching up on sports and shows you missed during the week. Many networks have a catch up feature and makes watching repeats easy
  • cuddle your baby
  • if you have a significant other, make plans to do something together that you have wanted to do in forever.  

Credit unknown

While we are postponing, life speeds by. —Seneca

There are plenty other suggestions and, different ideas and combos will provide better solutions depending on the individual’s situation.

I will not minimise the value of work, the earning power and satisfaction it brings. Even for me, as I set professional goals, I am cognisant of the effort I must put in to accomplish them. But, I know what I will and will not sacrifice in pursuit of my professional development.

I do hope that you, readers of the blog, takeaway that balance is important. Find a happy medium.

Wishing you love and light,

Tasha.

Leave a comment