What are my biggest challenges?

#Bloganuary Post No. 1

Discipline. Motivation. Two words which are the root of many personal challenges we face in the world of adulting.

Like so many others, I believe that they are separate and distinct concepts. But, like hand and glove, they go together.

“…unless you are disciplined enough to see the action through to the end, completion can be difficult.”

The Cambridge online dictionary describes ‘being motivated’ as ‘very enthusiastic or determined because you really want to do something.’ The Oxford shares that motivation is the ‘stimulus for action towards a desired goal… .’

The word discipline is noted as ‘the ability to make yourself do something, even if it is difficult, so that you can achieve a goal’ by the scholarly folks at Cambridge. I found this definition most useful to tie up all that I shall say below.

From Pexels.com

In my estimation, you can be enthusiastic for something – whatever that thing is, but unless you are disciplined enough to see the action through to the end, completion can be difficult. So here in lies my challenge.

You see, I am at times very motivated to start something, oft time, that motivation is driven by emotion. I conceptualise an idea and I can see the benefits for engaging in the activity/task. Yet, somewhere along the process, I drop the ball without completing the task because I am not as disciplined as I ought to be.

Photo on Pexels.com

A perfect example of an unmotivated and undisciplined truth, is this blog which becomes my Lazarus each January for Bloganuary. During the rest of the year, I do not write a scratch. I may submit a photo here or there, but I do not commit myself to the creative process of finding a topic to write on. I am not motivated. I lack the discipline.

Now, yes, I still face challenges which can serve as points for writing in this space. And, yes, I still travel and have activities that I can use as writing prompts. And, true, I still read extensively and could share a book commentary. Yet, for all this, I do not make the time to write. Sometimes I think that it is something deeper within that puts me off. Whatever it is, one thing is true: I do not give serious effort to write at least one post per week. And, I know that I can do better.

I cannot help but share an interesting observation with you. In searching for a photo for this post on Pexels, I entered the word struggle. The vast majority of photos showed health/weight-loss related photos of a woman squeezing her tummy, or using a machine in the gym. There was another with a tape measure around her waist. Many others showed a homeless person asking for food or a job. I found it interesting because for so many people, good health is a challenge; one that we should not neglect. One that requires absolute discipline.

As I write, I am feeling enthusiastic about this space again. Will it last?

Do you find blogging, writing difficult? How do you cope with the challenge? I would love to read your ideas and anecdotes.

Love and light,

Tasha.

Leave a comment